About EFLU

The English and Foreign Languages University, Hyderabad, was founded in 1958 as the Central Institute of English (CIE). Giving shape to Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru’s (India’s first Prime Minister) vision to set up an institution to impart quality training in English for teachers, the mandate of the University is to advance and disseminate “instructional, research and extension facilities in the teaching of English and Foreign Languages and Literatures in India” as well as “to take appropriate measures for interdisciplinary studies and research in literary and cultural studies, and to develop critical intercultural understanding of civilizations.”

In addition to regular Teacher Training Programmes, CIE set benchmarks through its various conferences, refresher courses, and syllabus design ventures. During this time, the Institute also initiated indigenous English education programmesby producing school text books and later radio lessons.

Gradually the Institute extended the scope of its goals, viz., to improve the standard of English Teaching; to undertake relevant research; and to publish materials, to foreign languages. It was therefore renamed the Central Institute of English and Foreign Languages (CIEFL) in 1972 with the addition of three major foreign languages – German, Russian and French.

In 1973, CIEFL was awarded the status of a deemed university. Venturing into newer territories like curriculum development, evaluation, and methodology researches, two new campuses were set up at Shillong (1973) and Lucknow (1979) to include a larger population in its activities.

Furthering its achievements in the use of radio and moving into television, the Educational Media Research Center (EMMRC) was established at CIEFL in 1984 with the objective to design and telecast programmes in all subjects.

In 2006 CIEFL was given central university status and accordingly came to be called the English and Foreign Languages University by an act of the Parliament

Dedicated to the study of English and foreign languages, it is the only one of its kind in South Asia. It has been specially set up to conduct advanced research and training in English and foreign languages (Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian, Japanese, Korean, Persian, Turkish) in the areas of Teacher Education, Literature, Linguistics, Interdisciplinary, and Cultural Studies.

Today, the EFL University has 7 schools and 26 Departments. Apart from graduate, postgraduate, and Research programmes, EFLU offers postgraduate diplomas, and distance and part time mode courses.